Missionaries of the Company of Mary (S.M.M.)

Montfort Missionaries

Also known as: Montfortaner (Deutsch) / Misioneros de la Compañía de María (Monfortana) (español) / Missionnaires de la Compagnie de Marie (français) / Compagnia di Maria (Monfortani) (Italiano) / Companhia de Maria (Português) / Societas Mariæ Montfortana (latine)


Type: Clerical Religious Congregation of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Depends on: Dicastery for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life



Contact Info

Address: Viale dei Monfortani 65, 00135 Roma, Italy

Phone: 06.305.23.32


Superior General:BrazilFr. Luiz Augusto Stefani, S.M.M. (64)Fr. Luiz Augusto Stefani, S.M.M. (64) (2017.05.11 – ...)

Past Superiors

Superior General:ItalyFr. Santino Brembilla, S.M.M. (2005.05.15 – 2017.05.11)
Superior General:Fr. William Joseph Considine, S.M.M. (1993 – 2005.05.15?)


Founder:FranceSaint Fr. Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort, S.M.M. (1705)

Other Present Members (2)

ItalyFr. Corrado Maggioni, S.M.M. (67)Fr. Corrado Maggioni, S.M.M. (67), President of Committee for International Eucharistic Congresses

ItalyFr. Pier Luigi Nava, S.M.M. (70)Fr. Pier Luigi Nava, S.M.M. (70), Undersecretary of Dicastery for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Other Former Members (6)

2019: ColombiaFr. José Aurelio Rozo Gutiérrez, S.M.M., Prefect Apostolic of Vichada (Colombia)

1999: ItalyFr. Elio Gambari, S.M.M., Adjunct Undersecretary of Sacred Congregation for the Religious and Secular Institutes

>1987: CanadaMsgr. Dorio-Marie Huot, S.M.M., Prelate Auditor of Roman Rota

1974: ColombiaFr. Lucreciano Onofre Gonsález, S.M.M., Prefect Apostolic of Vichada (Colombia)

1969: ColombiaFr. Alfonso Cuypers, S.M.M., Prefect Apostolic of Vichada (Colombia)

1962: ColombiaFr. Emiliano Pied, S.M.M., Prefect Apostolic of Vichada (Colombia)

Living Bishops (1 Patriarch, 1 Archbishop, 5 Bishops)

PortugalPatriarch Rui Manuel Sousa Valério, S.M.M. (59)Patriarch Rui Manuel Sousa Valério, S.M.M. (59), Patriarch of Lisboa (Portugal) and Apostolic Administrator of the Military Ordinariate of Portugal (Portugal)

MalawiArchbishop Thomas Luke Msusa, S.M.M. (61)Archbishop Thomas Luke Msusa, S.M.M. (61), Metropolitan Archbishop of Blantyre (Malawi) and Vice-President of Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa

HaitiBishop Quesnel Alphonse, S.M.M. (74)Bishop Quesnel Alphonse, S.M.M. (74), Bishop of Fort-Liberté (Haiti)

Papua New GuineaBishop Gilles Côté, S.M.M. (78)Bishop Gilles Côté, S.M.M. (78), Bishop emeritus of Daru–Kiunga (Papua New Guinea)

Papua New GuineaBishop Rozario Menezes, S.M.M. (54)Bishop Rozario Menezes, S.M.M. (54), Bishop of Lae (Papua New Guinea)

MalawiBishop Alessandro Pagani, S.M.M. (87)Bishop Alessandro Pagani, S.M.M. (87), Bishop emeritus of Mangochi (Malawi)

IndiaBishop Joseph Raja Rao Thelegathoti, S.M.M. (71)Bishop Joseph Raja Rao Thelegathoti, S.M.M. (71), Bishop of Vijayawada (India)

Deceased Bishops (3 Archbishops, 22 Bishops)

2022: Papua New GuineaBishop Gérard-Joseph Deschamps, S.M.M., Bishop of Bereina (Papua New Guinea)

2022: HaitiBishop François Colímon, S.M.M., Bishop of Port-de-Paix (Haiti)

2018: ColombiaBishop José Alberto Rozo Gutiérrez, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Puerto Gaitán (Colombia)

2016: ColombiaBishop Gregorio Garavito Jiménez, S.M.M., Bishop of Villavicencio (Colombia)

2011: CanadaBishop Paul Marchand, S.M.M., Bishop of Timmins (Canada)

2010: HaitiArchbishop François Gayot, S.M.M., Metropolitan Archbishop of Cap-Haïtien (Haiti)

2005: MalawiBishop Alessandro Assolari, S.M.M., Bishop of Mangochi (Malawi)

2005: MalawiBishop Luciano Nervi, S.M.M., Bishop of Mangochi (Malawi)

1996: MalawiBishop Lawrence Pullen Hardman, S.M.M., Bishop of Zomba (Malawi)

1992: MalawiBishop Eugen Joseph Frans Vroemen, S.M.M., Bishop of Chikwawa (Malawi)

1988: ColombiaBishop Frans Joseph Bruls Canisius, S.M.M., Bishop of Villavicencio (Colombia)

1988: Congo-KinshasaBishop Lodewijk Antoon Jansen, S.M.M., Bishop of Isangi (Congo-Kinshasa)

1986: IcelandBishop Hendrik Hubert Frehen, S.M.M., Bishop of Reykjavík (Iceland)

1983: HaitiBishop Rémy Augustin, S.M.M., Bishop of Port-de-Paix (Haiti)

1980: IndonesiaBishop Lambert van Kessel, S.M.M., Bishop of Sintang (Indonesia)

1979: MalawiArchbishop Jan Baptist Hubert Theunissen, S.M.M., Metropolitan Archbishop of Blantyre (Malawi)

1975: HaitiBishop Albert-Marie Guiot, S.M.M., Bishop of Port-de-Paix (Haiti)

1975: HaitiBishop Charles-Édouard Peters, S.M.M., Bishop of Jérémie (Haiti)

1972: IcelandBishop Johánnes Gunnarsson, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Islanda (Iceland)

1964: MadagascarBishop Alain-Sébastien Le Breton, S.M.M., Bishop of Tamatave (Madagascar)

1959: MalawiBishop Louis-Joseph-Marie Auneau, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Shiré (Malawi)

1941: ColombiaBishop Joseph-Marie-Désiré Guiot, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Los Llanos de San Martín (Colombia)

1941: IcelandBishop Martino Meulenberg, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Islanda (Iceland)

1935: HaitiBishop Paul-Marie Le Bihain, S.M.M., Bishop of Port-de-Paix (Haiti)

1855: TurkiyeArchbishop Julien-Marie Hillereau, S.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Constantinopole (Turkiye)

Saints (1)

1716: FranceSaint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort, priest

Brazil Brazil

Canada Canada

Italy Italy

Philippines Philippines


Statistics (2021.12.31)

Houses: 160

Members: 809 (569 priests)



Last updated on 2024.01.30

© 2024 GCatholic.org