Catholic Church


Republic of Malawi (Malawi)


Also known as: Malaui (español), le Malawi (français), Malawi (Deutsch, Italiano, polski, Português), 馬拉威 (正體中文), マラウイ (日本語), Malavium (latine)

By Type (8)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (6)

By Rite

Roman Rite (8): Blantyre, Chikwawa, Dedza, Karonga, Lilongwe, Mangochi, Mzuzu, Zomba

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Malawi Archbishop Gian Luca Perici (59)

Conference of Bishops: Episcopal Conference of Malawi Archbishop George Desmond Tambala, O.C.D. (55)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa (A.M.E.C.E.A.) Bishop Charles Joseph Sampa Kasonde (55)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (8)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Eastern and Central Africa

Capital: Lilongwe

Area: 94,080 km²

Population: 19,196,246

Former Name: Nyasaland

Neighbouring Countries: Zambia Zambia, ↑ Tanzania Tanzania, ↓ Mozambique Mozambique

Cultural Summary

Religions: Protestant 27.2% (includes Church of Central Africa Presbyterian 17.7%, Seventh Day Adventist/Baptist 6.9%, Anglican 2.6%), Catholic 18.4%, other Christian 41%, Muslim 12.1%, other 0.3%, none 1%

Languages: English (official), Chichewa (common), Chinyanja, Chiyao, Chitumbuka, Chilomwe, Chinkhonde, Chingoni, Chisena, Chitonga, Chinyakyusa, Chilambya

Ethnic Groups: Chewa 35.1%, Lomwe 18.9%, Yao 13.1%, Ngoni 12%, Tumbuka 9.4%, Sena 3.5%, Tonga 1.8%, Nyanja 1%, Nkhonde 0.9%, other 1.8%

Motto: Unity and Freedom (English)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 118,484 km²

Catholic Population: 7,031,000 Catholics (36.3% of 19,352,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 189 parishes, 885 mission stations (13 with resident priest, 872 without resident priest), 5 other centres

Clergy: 10 bishops (7 diocesan, 3 titular), 656 priests (401 diocesan, 255 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,211 religious (92 brothers, 1,119 sisters), 8 members of secular institutes (sisters), 384 major seminarians, 55 missionaries, 658 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.12

© 2024