Catholic Church


Independent State of Papua New Guinea (Papua New Guinea)

Papua New Guinea

Also known as: Papua-Neuguinea (Deutsch), Papúa Nueva Guinea (español), la Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée (français), Papua Nuova Guinea (Italiano), Papua-Nowa Gwinea (polski), Papua-Nova Guiné (Português), 巴布亞新畿內亞 (正體中文), パプアニューギニア (日本語), Papua Nova Guinea (latine)

By Type (19)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (4)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (15)

By Rite

Roman Rite (19): Aitape, Alotau–Sideia, Bereina, Bougainville, Daru–Kiunga, Goroka, Kavieng, Kerema, Kimbe, Kundiawa, Lae, Madang, Mendi, Mount Hagen, Port Moresby, Rabaul, Vanimo, Wabag, Wewak

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Papua New Guinea Archbishop Mauro Lalli (58)

Conference of Bishops: The Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Papua New Guinea and Soloman Islands Archbishop Anton Bal (60)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (57)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal John Ribat, M.S.C. (67)John Ribat, M.S.C. (67)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (22)


Patron Saint: St. Michael

Saints: 2 Blesseds

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Oceania

Capital: Port Moresby

Area: 452,860 km²

Population: 6,909,701

Neighbouring Countries: Indonesia Indonesia, ↑ Micronesia Micronesia, → Solomon Islands Solomon Islands, ↓ Australia Australia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 27%, Protestant 69.4% (Evangelical Lutheran 19.5%, United Church 11.5%, Seventh Day Adventist 10%, Pentecostal 8.6%, Evangelical Alliance 5.2%, Anglican 3.2%, Baptist 2.5%, other Protestant 8.9%), Baha'i 0.3%, indigenous beliefs and other 3.3%

Languages: Tok Pisin (official), English (official), Hiri Motu (official), some 839 indigenous languages spoken (about 12% of the world's total); many languages have fewer than 1,000 speakers

Ethnic Groups: Melanesian, Papuan, Negrito, Micronesian, Polynesian

Motto: Unity in Diversity (English)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 462,840 km²

Catholic Population: 2,476,000 Catholics (30.5% of 8,125,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 453 parishes, 804 mission stations (56 with resident priest, 748 without resident priest), 165 other centres

Clergy: 27 bishops (17 diocesan, 10 titular), 599 priests (304 diocesan, 295 religious), 1 permanent deacon (religious)

Non-Clergy: 995 religious (179 brothers, 816 sisters), 306 major seminarians, 12 missionaries, 2,709 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.06.26

© 2024