Catholic Church


Republic of Honduras (Honduras)


Also known as: le Honduras (français), Honduras (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 洪都拉斯 (正體中文), ホンジュラス (日本語), Honduria (latine)

By Type (11)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (9)

By Rite

Roman Rite (11): Choluteca, Comayagua, Danlí, Gracias, Juticalpa, La Ceiba, San Pedro Sula, Santa Rosa de Copán, Tegucigalpa, Trujillo, Yoro

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Honduras Archbishop Gábor Pintér (60)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de Honduras (C.E.H.) Archbishop José Vicente Nácher Tatay, C.M. (59)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Secretariado Episcopal de América Central y Panamá (S.E.D.A.C.) Bishop Héctor David García Osorio (57)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total)

Cardinal Óscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga, S.D.B. (81)Óscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga, S.D.B. (81)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (12)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)


Patron Saint: Nuestra Señora de Suyapa (February 23)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: Tegucigalpa

Area: 111,890 km²

Population: 9,038,741

Neighbouring Countries: El Salvador El Salvador, ← Guatemala Guatemala, ↑ Belize Belize, ↘ Nicaragua Nicaragua

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 46%, Protestant 41%, atheist 1%, other 2%, none 9%

Languages: Spanish (official), Amerindian dialects

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Amerindian and European) 90%, Amerindian 7%, black 2%, white 1%

Motto: Libre, Soberana e Independiente (Spanish) (Free, sovereign and independent)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 112,088 km²

Catholic Population: 7,732,000 Catholics (81.8% of 9,451,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 274 parishes, 888 mission stations (38 with resident priest, 850 without resident priest), 3 other centres

Clergy: 17 bishops (11 diocesan, 6 titular), 545 priests (374 diocesan, 171 religious), 6 permanent deacons (5 diocesan, 1 religious)

Non-Clergy: 823 religious (38 brothers, 785 sisters), 356 major seminarians, 78 missionaries, 18,305 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024