Catholic Church


Republic of El Salvador (El Salvador)

El Salvador

Also known as: le Salvador (français), El Salvador (Deutsch, español, Italiano, Português), Salwador (polski), 薩爾瓦多 (正體中文), エルサルバドル (日本語), Salvatoria (latine)

By Type (9)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (9): Chalatenango, Obispado Castrense en El Salvador, San Miguel, San Salvador, San Vicente, Santa Ana, Santiago de María, Sonsonate, Zacatecoluca

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: El Salvador Archbishop Luigi Roberto Cona (58)

Holy See Representation: Central American Integration System (SICA) Archbishop Luigi Roberto Cona (58)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de El Salvador (CEDES) Archbishop José Luis Escobar Alas (65)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Secretariado Episcopal de América Central y Panamá (S.E.D.A.C.) Bishop Héctor David García Osorio (57)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total)

Cardinal Gregorio Rosa Chávez (81)Gregorio Rosa Chávez (81)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (9)

Basilicas Basilicas (4)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)


Patron Saint: Our Lady of Peace

Saints: 1 Saint, 4 Blesseds

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: San Salvador

Area: 20,721 km²

Population: 6,172,011

Neighbouring Countries: Guatemala Guatemala, ↗ Honduras Honduras, ↘ Nicaragua Nicaragua

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 50%, Protestant 36%, other 2%, none 12%

Languages: Spanish (official), Nawat (among some Amerindians)

Ethnic Groups: mestizo 86.3%, white 12.7%, Amerindian 0.2% (includes Lenca, Kakawira, Nahua-Pipil), black 0.1%, other 0.6%

Motto: Dios, Unión, Libertad (Spanish) (God, Union, Liberty)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 21,041 km²

Catholic Population: 5,242,000 Catholics (82.9% of 6,326,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 464 parishes, 2 mission stations (with resident priest), 37 other centres

Clergy: 14 bishops (8 diocesan, 6 titular), 1,022 priests (825 diocesan, 197 religious), 4 permanent deacons (2 diocesan, 2 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,688 religious (48 brothers, 1,640 sisters), 19 members of secular institutes (3 brothers, 16 sisters), 355 major seminarians, 15 missionaries, 13,830 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.22

© 2024