Catholic Church


Republic of Guatemala (Guatemala)


Also known as: le Guatemala (français), Guatemala (Deutsch, español, Italiano, Português), Gwatemala (polski), 瓜地馬拉 (正體中文), グアテマラ (日本語), Guatimalia (latine)

By Type (16)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (11)

Territorial Prelatures Territorial Prelature (1)

Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (16): El Petén, Escuintla, Huehuetenango, Izabal, Jalapa, Los Altos, Quetzaltenango–Totonicapán, Quiché, San Francisco de Asís de Jutiapa, San Marcos, Santa Rosa de Lima, Santiago de Guatemala, Santo Cristo de Esquipulas, Sololá–Chimaltenango, Suchitepéquez–Retalhuleu, Vera Paz, Zacapa

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Guatemala Archbishop Francisco Montecillo Padilla (70)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de Guatemala (CEG) Bishop Rodolfo Valenzuela Núñez (69)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Secretariado Episcopal de América Central y Panamá (S.E.D.A.C.) Bishop Héctor David García Osorio (57)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Álvaro Leonel Ramazzini Imeri (76)Álvaro Leonel Ramazzini Imeri (76)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (19)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)

National Shrines National Shrines (4)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (12)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Patron Saints: Saint James Major, Our Lady of the Rosary

Saints: 1 Saint, 15 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: Guatemala City

Area: 107,159 km²

Population: 15,460,732

Neighbouring Countries: Mexico Mexico, ↗ Belize Belize, → Honduras Honduras, ↘ El Salvador El Salvador

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, indigenous Maya beliefs

Languages: Spanish (official) 68.9%, Maya languages 30.9% (K'iche 8.7%, Q'eqchi 7%, Mam 4.6%, Kaqchikel 4.3%, other 6.3%), other 0.3% (includes Xinca and Garifuna)

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Amerindian-Spanish - in local Spanish called Ladino) and European 60.1%, Maya 39.3% (K'iche 11.3%, Q'eqchi 7.6%, Kaqchikel 7.4%, Mam 5.5%, other 7.5%), non-Maya, non-mestizo 0.15% (Xinca (indigenous, non-Maya), Garifuna (mixed West and Central African, Island Carib, and Arawak)), other 0.5%

Motto: Libre Crezca Fecundo (Spanish) (Grow Free and Fertile)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 108,889 km²

Catholic Population: 15,108,000 Catholics (88.3% of 17,110,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 543 parishes, 282 mission stations (1 with resident priest, 281 without resident priest), 650 other centres

Clergy: 23 bishops (13 diocesan, 10 titular), 1,206 priests (723 diocesan, 483 religious), 1 permanent deacon (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 1,962 religious (127 brothers, 1,835 sisters), 90 members of secular institutes (10 brothers, 80 sisters), 442 major seminarians, 38,178 missionaries, 47,650 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024