Catholic Church


Togolese Republic (Togo)


Also known as: le Togo (français), Togo (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 多哥 (正體中文), トーゴ (日本語), Togum (latine)

By Type (8)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

By Rite

Roman Rite (7): Aného, Atakpamé, Dapaong, Kara, Kpalimé, Lomé, Sokodé

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Togo Archbishop Mark Gerard Miles (56)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale du Togo Bishop Benoît Comlan Messan Alowonou (75)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) Bishop Alexis Touabli Youlo (64)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (7)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Lomé

Area: 54,385 km²

Population: 7,965,055

Former Name: French Togoland

Neighbouring Countries: Ghana Ghana, ↑ Burkina Faso Burkina Faso, → Benin Benin

Cultural Summary

Religions: Christian 29%, Muslim 20%, indigenous beliefs 51%

Languages: French (official, the language of commerce), Ewe and Mina (the two major African languages in the south), Kabye (sometimes spelled Kabiye) and Dagomba (the two major African languages in the north)

Ethnic Groups: African (37 tribes; largest and most important are Ewe, Mina, and Kabre) 99%, European and Syrian-Lebanese less than 1%

Motto: Travail, Liberté, Patrie (French) (Work, liberty, homeland)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 56,785 km²

Catholic Population: 2,180,000 Catholics (27.3% of 7,979,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 307 parishes, 1,568 mission stations (without resident priest), 129 other centres

Clergy: 10 bishops (6 diocesan, 4 titular), 1,108 priests (817 diocesan, 291 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,496 religious (268 brothers, 1,228 sisters), 29 members of secular institutes (sisters), 667 major seminarians, 38 missionaries, 6,568 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024