Catholic Church


Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

Also known as: le Burkina Faso (français), Burkina Faso (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 布基納法索 (正體中文), ブルキナファソ (日本語), Burkina (latine)

By Type (16)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (3)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (13)

By Rite

Roman Rite (15): Banfora, Bobo-Dioulasso, Dédougou, Diébougou, Dori, Fada N’Gourma, Gaoua, Kaya, Koudougou, Koupéla, Manga, Nouna, Ouagadougou, Ouahigouya, Tenkodogo

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Burkina Faso Archbishop Michael Francis Crotty (54)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence des Evêques de Burkina Faso et du Niger Bishop Laurent Birfuoré Dabiré (58)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) Bishop Alexis Touabli Youlo (64)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo (79)Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo (79)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (15)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Ouagadougou

Area: 273,800 km²

Population: 20,107,509

Former Name: Upper Volta

Neighbouring Countries: Cote d’Ivoire Cote d’Ivoire, ↑ Mali Mali, → Niger Niger, ↘ Benin Benin, ↓ Togo Togo, ↓ Ghana Ghana

Cultural Summary

Religions: Muslim 61.5%, Roman Catholic 23.3%, traditional/animist 7.8%, Protestant 6.5%, other/no answer 0.2%, none 0.7%

Languages: French (official), native African languages belonging to Sudanic family spoken by 90% of the population

Ethnic Groups: Mossi 52%, Fulani 8.4%, Gurma 7%, Bobo 4.9%, Gurunsi 4.6%, Senufo 4.5%, Bissa 3.7%, Lobi 2.4%, Dagara 2.4%, Tuareg/Bella 1.9%, Dioula 0.8%, unspecified/no answer 0.3%, other 7.2%

Motto: Unité, Progrès, Justice (French) (Unity, Progress, Justice)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 274,200 km²

Catholic Population: 3,494,000 Catholics (15.7% of 22,186,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 216 parishes, 900 mission stations (1 with resident priest, 899 without resident priest), 562 other centres

Clergy: 23 bishops (14 diocesan, 9 titular), 1,288 priests (939 diocesan, 349 religious), 2 permanent deacons (religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,793 religious (212 brothers, 1,581 sisters), 26 members of secular institutes (sisters), 808 major seminarians, 3 missionaries, 3,729 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.12

© 2024