Catholic Church


Republic of Guinea (Guinea)


Also known as: la Guinée (français), Guinea (Deutsch, español, Italiano, latine), Gwinea (polski), Guiné (Português), 幾內亞 (正體中文), ギニア (日本語)

By Type (6)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (5)

By Rite

Roman Rite (5): Boké, Conakry, Guéckédou, Kankan, N’Zérékoré

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Guinea Archbishop Jean-Sylvain Emien Mambé (53)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale de la Guinée Bishop Raphaël Balla Guilavogui (59)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) Bishop Alexis Touabli Youlo (64)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Robert Sarah (78)Robert Sarah (78)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (5)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Conakry

Area: 245,717 km²

Population: 12,413,867

Former Name: French Guinea

Neighbouring Countries: Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau, ↖ Senegal Senegal, ↗ Mali Mali, → Cote d’Ivoire Cote d’Ivoire, ↘ Liberia Liberia, ↓ Sierra Leone Sierra Leone

Cultural Summary

Religions: Muslim 86.2%, Christian 9.7%, animist/other/none 4.1%

Languages: French (official)

Ethnic Groups: Fulani (Peul) 32.1%, Malinke 29.8%, Susu 19.8%, Guerze 6.2%, Kissi 4.7%, Toma 2.8%, other/no answer 4.6%

Motto: Travail, Justice, Solidarité (French) (Work, Justice, Solidarity)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 245,857 km²

Catholic Population: 311,000 Catholics (2.4% of 12,907,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 74 parishes, 73 mission stations (without resident priest), 27 other centres

Clergy: 4 bishops (3 diocesan, 1 titular), 194 priests (163 diocesan, 31 religious)

Non-Clergy: 168 religious (26 brothers, 142 sisters), 132 major seminarians, 2 missionaries, 1,046 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.12

© 2024