Catholic Church


Republic of Cuba (Cuba)


Also known as: Kuba (Deutsch, polski), Cuba (español, français, Italiano, Português, latine), 古巴 (正體中文), キューバ (日本語)

By Type (11)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (3)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (8)

By Rite

Roman Rite (11): Bayamo y Manzanillo, Camagüey, Ciego de Ávila, Cienfuegos, Guantánamo–Baracoa, Holguín, La Habana, Matanzas, Pinar del Río, Santa Clara, Santiago

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Cuba

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia de Obispos Católicos de Cuba (C.O.C.C.) Bishop Emilio Aranguren Echeverría (73)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Juan de la Caridad García Rodríguez (75)Juan de la Caridad García Rodríguez (75)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (12)

Basilicas Basilicas (5)

National Shrines National Shrines (5)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (3)


Patron Saint: Nuestra Señora de la Caridad del Cobre (September 8)

Saints: 1 Saint, 3 Blesseds

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: Havana

Area: 109,820 km²

Population: 11,147,407

Neighbouring Countries: Mexico Mexico, ↖ USA USA, ↑ Bahamas Bahamas, ↗ Turks and Caicos Islands Turks and Caicos Islands, → Haiti Haiti, ↘ Jamaica Jamaica, ↓ Cayman Islands Cayman Islands

Cultural Summary

Religions: nominally Roman Catholic 85%, Protestant, Jehovah's Witnesses, Jewish, Santeria

Languages: Spanish (official)

Ethnic Groups: white 64.1%, mulatto or mixed 26.6%, black 9.3%

Motto: Patria o muerte (Spanish) (Homeland or death)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 110,861 km²

Catholic Population: 6,688,000 Catholics (60.0% of 11,147,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 299 parishes, 1,603 mission stations (without resident priest), 494 other centres

Clergy: 16 bishops (11 diocesan, 5 titular), 320 priests (185 diocesan, 135 religious), 89 permanent deacons (87 diocesan, 2 religious)

Non-Clergy: 530 religious (30 brothers, 500 sisters), 30 members of secular institutes (4 brothers, 26 sisters), 60 major seminarians, 1,860 missionaries, 2,691 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024