Catholic Church


Republic of Angola (Angola)


Also known as: l’Angola (français), Angola (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 安哥拉 (正體中文), アンゴラ (日本語), Angolia (latine)

By Type (20)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (5)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (15)

By Rite

Roman Rite (19): Benguela, Cabinda, Caxito, Dundo, Huambo, Kwito-Bié, Luanda, Lubango, Luena, Malanje, Mbanza Congo, Menongue, Namibe, Ndalatando, Ondjiva, Saurimo, Sumbe, Uíje, Viana

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Angola

Conference of Bishops: Conferência Episcopal de Angola e São Tomé (C.E.A.S.T.) Archbishop José Manuel Imbamba (59)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Inter-Regional Meeting of Bishops of Southern Africa (I.M.B.I.S.A.) Archbishop Liborius Ndumbukuti Nashenda, O.M.I. (65)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/2 total)

Cardinal Eugenio Dal Corso, P.S.D.P. (84)Eugenio Dal Corso, P.S.D.P. (84)

Cardinal Alexandre do Nascimento (99)Alexandre do Nascimento (99)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (20)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (2)


Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Southern Africa

Capital: Luanda

Area: 1,246,700 km²

Population: 29,310,273

Neighbouring Countries: Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, ↑ Congo-Brazzaville Congo-Brazzaville, ↗ Congo-Kinshasa Congo-Kinshasa, → Zambia Zambia, ↓ Namibia Namibia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 41.1%, Protestant 38.1%, other 8.6%, none 12.3%

Languages: Portuguese 71.2% (official), Umbundu 23%, Kikongo 8.2%, Kimbundu 7.8%, Chokwe 6.5%, Nhaneca 3.4%, Nganguela 3.1%, Fiote 2.4%, Kwanhama 2.3%, Muhumbi 2.1%, Luvale 1%, other 3.6%

Ethnic Groups: Ovimbundu 37%, Kimbundu 25%, Bakongo 13%, mestico (mixed European and native African) 2%, European 1%, other 22%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 1,246,700 km²

Catholic Population: 18,562,000 Catholics (57.8% of 32,098,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 492 parishes, 757 mission stations (30 with resident priest, 727 without resident priest), 668 other centres

Clergy: 32 bishops (18 diocesan, 14 titular), 1,339 priests (885 diocesan, 454 religious), 1 permanent deacon (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 2,606 religious (296 brothers, 2,310 sisters), 7 members of secular institutes (sisters), 2,206 major seminarians, 39 missionaries, 53,474 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.16

© 2024