Catholic Church


Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville)


Also known as: Republik Kongo (Deutsch), República del Congo (español), le Congo (français), Repubblica del Congo (Italiano), Kongo (polski), Congo-Brazzaville (Português), 剛果 (正體中文), コンゴ共和国 (日本語), Respublica Congensis (latine)

By Type (10)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (3)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

By Rite

Roman Rite (9): Brazzaville, Dolisie, Gamboma, Impfondo, Kinkala, Nkayi, Ouesso, Owando, Pointe-Noire

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Republic of Congo Archbishop Javier Herrera Corona (55)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale du Congo Archbishop Bienvenu Manamika Bafouakouahou (59)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Association des Conférences Episcopales de la Région de l’Afrique Central (A.C.E.R.A.C.) Archbishop Goetbé Edmond Djitangar (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (9)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Eastern and Central Africa

Capital: Brazzaville

Area: 341,500 km²

Population: 4,954,674

Former Name: French Congo

Neighbouring Countries: Gabon Gabon, ↖ Cameroon Cameroon, ↑ Central African Republic Central African Republic, → Congo-Kinshasa Congo-Kinshasa, ↓ Angola Angola

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 33.1%, Awakening Churches/Christian Revival 22.3%, Protestant 19.9%, Salutiste 2.2%, Muslim 1.6%, Kimbanguiste 1.5%, other 8.1%, none 11.3%

Languages: French (official), Lingala and Monokutuba (lingua franca trade languages), many local languages and dialects (of which Kikongo is the most widespread)

Ethnic Groups: Kongo 40.5%, Teke 16.9%, Mbochi 13.1%, foreigner 8.2%, Sangha 5.6%, Mbere/Mbeti/Kele 4.4%, Punu 4.3%, Pygmy 1.6%, Oubanguiens 1.6%, Duma 1.5%, Makaa 1.3%, other and unspecified 1%

Motto: Unité, Travail, Progrès (French) (Unity, Work, Progress)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 342,000 km²

Catholic Population: 2,958,000 Catholics (52.8% of 5,601,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 188 parishes, 219 mission stations (without resident priest), 23 other centres

Clergy: 12 bishops (8 diocesan, 4 titular), 638 priests (484 diocesan, 154 religious), 1 permanent deacon (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 602 religious (105 brothers, 497 sisters), 6 members of secular institutes (sisters), 364 major seminarians, 13 missionaries, 3,171 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.02.27

© 2024