Catholic Church


Republic of Kazakhstan (Kazakhstan)


Also known as: Kasachstan (Deutsch), Kazajistán (español), le Kazakhstan (français), Kazakistan (Italiano), Kazachstan (polski), Cazaquistão (Português), Қазақстан (Kazakh), 哈薩克斯坦 (正體中文), カザフスタン (日本語), Kazachstania (latine)

By Type (5)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (2)

Apostolic Administrations Apostolic Administration (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (4): Atyrau, Karaganda, Most Holy Mary in Astana, Most Holy Trinity in Almaty

Byzantine Church in Kazakhstan and Central Asia (1): Kazakhstan and Central Asia

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Kazakhstan Archbishop George George Panamthundil (51)

Conference of Bishops: Bishops’ Conference of Central Asia Bishop José Luís Mumbiela Sierra (54)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão (71)


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (6)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)


Saints: 3 Blesseds

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central and Southwest Asia

Capital: Astana

Area: 2,699,700 km²

Population: 18,556,698

Neighbouring Countries: Turkmenistan Turkmenistan, ↑ Russia Russia, → China China, ↘ Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan, ↓ Uzbekistan Uzbekistan

Cultural Summary

Religions: Muslim 70.2%, Christian 26.2% (mainly Russian Orthodox), other 0.2%, atheist 2.8%, unspecified 0.5%

Languages: Kazakh (official, Qazaq) 74% (understand spoken language), Russian (official, used in everyday business, designated the "language of interethnic communication") 94.4% (understand spoken language)

Ethnic Groups: Kazakh (Qazaq) 63.1%, Russian 23.7%, Uzbek 2.9%, Ukrainian 2.1%, Uighur 1.4%, Tatar 1.3%, German 1.1%, other 4.4%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 2,724,900 km²

Catholic Population: 125,000 Catholics (0.7% of 19,001,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 83 parishes, 83 mission stations (17 with resident priest, 66 without resident priest), 54 other centres

Clergy: 6 bishops (3 diocesan, 3 titular), 97 priests (72 diocesan, 25 religious), 3 permanent deacons (1 diocesan, 2 religious)

Non-Clergy: 123 religious (6 brothers, 117 sisters), 5 major seminarians, 13 missionaries, 49 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


1990Statistics included in Russia Russia

Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024