Catholic Church


Russian Federation (Russia)


Also known as: Russland (Deutsch), Rusia (español), la Russie (français), Russia (Italiano, latine), Rosja (polski), Rússia (Português), Россия (русский язык), 俄羅斯 (正體中文), ロシア (日本語)

By Type (7)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (3)

Apostolic Exarchates Apostolic Exarchate (1)

Ordinariates for the Faithful of the Eastern Rite Ordinariate (1)

Apostolic Prefectures Apostolic Prefecture (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (5): Mother of God at Moscow, Saint Clement at Saratov, Saint Joseph at Irkutsk, Transfiguration at Novosibirsk, Yuzhno Sakhalinsk

Armenian Church (1): East Europe

Russian Church (1): Russia

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Russian Federation Archbishop Giovanni D’Aniello (69)

Conference of Bishops: Conferenza dei Vescovi Cattolici della Federazione Russa (C.V.C.F.R.) Archbishop Pavel Pezzi, F.S.C.B. (63)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (7)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)


Patron Saints: Saint Andrew (November 30), Saint Nicholas of Myra (December 6)

Saints: 5 Saints, 13 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text


Continents: East Europe, South and East Asia, Central and Southwest Asia

Capital: Moscow

Area: 16,377,742 km²

Population: 142,257,519

Former Name: Soviet Union

Neighbouring Countries: Ukraine Ukraine, ← Belarus Belarus, ← Latvia Latvia, ← Estonia Estonia, ↖ Finland Finland, → USA USA, ↘ China China, ↘ Japan Japan, ↘ North Korea North Korea, ↓ Mongolia Mongolia, ↓ Kazakhstan Kazakhstan, ↓ Azerbaijan Azerbaijan, ↓ Georgia Georgia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Russian Orthodox 15-20%, Muslim 10-15%, other Christian 2%

Languages: Russian (official) 85.7%, Tatar 3.2%, Chechen 1%, others 10.1%

Ethnic Groups: Russian 77.7%, Tatar 3.7%, Ukrainian 1.4%, Bashkir 1.1%, Chuvash 1%, Chechen 1%, other 10.2%, unspecified 3.9%

Motto: С нами Бог (Russian) (God is with us)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 17,075,400 km²

Catholic Population: 800,000 Catholics (0.5% of 146,864,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 208 parishes, 30 mission stations (without resident priest), 183 other centres

Clergy: 6 bishops (4 diocesan, 2 titular), 237 priests (90 diocesan, 147 religious), 2 permanent deacons (1 diocesan, 1 religious)

Non-Clergy: 276 religious (21 brothers, 255 sisters), 7 members of secular institutes (sisters), 38 major seminarians, 13 missionaries, 217 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


1990Statistics include present-day Armenia Armenia, Azerbaijan Azerbaijan, Georgia Georgia, Kazakhstan Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan Tajikistan, Turkmenistan Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan Uzbekistan

Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024