Catholic Church


Republic of Singapore (Singapore)


Also known as: Singapur (Deutsch, español, polski), Singapour (français), Singapore (Italiano), 新加坡 (正體中文), シンガポール (日本語), Singapura (Português, latine)

By Type (1)

Archiepiscopal Sees (Archdioceses) Archdiocese (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Singapore

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Singapore Archbishop Marek Zalewski (61)

Holy See Representation: Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Archbishop Piero Pioppo (63)

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (B.C.M.S.B.) Archbishop Julian Leow Beng Kim (60)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão (71)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal William Goh Seng Chye (66)William Goh Seng Chye (吳成才) (66)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Saints: 1 Saint

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Singapore

Area: 709.2 km²

Population: 5,888,926

Former Name: Temasik

Neighbouring Countries: Malaysia Malaysia, ↓ Indonesia Indonesia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Buddhist 33.2%, Christian 18.8%, Muslim 14%, Taoist 10%, Hindu 5%, other 0.6%, none 18.5%

Languages: English (official) 36.9%, Mandarin (official) 34.9%, other Chinese dialects (includes Hokkien, Cantonese, Teochew) 12.2%, Malay (official) 10.7%, Tamil (official) 3.3%, other 2%

Ethnic Groups: Chinese 74.3%, Malay 13.4%, Indian 9%, other 3.2%

Motto: Majulah Singapura (Malay) (Onward Singapore)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 639 km²

Catholic Population: 170,000 Catholics (3.1% of 5,454,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 29 parishes, 3 other centres

Clergy: 3 bishops (1 diocesan, 2 titular), 158 priests (76 diocesan, 82 religious), 2 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 196 religious (34 brothers, 162 sisters), 1 member of secular institutes (sister), 27 major seminarians, 1,880 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.02.27

© 2024