Catholic Church


Republic of Latvia (Latvia)


Also known as: Lettland (Deutsch), Letonia (español), la Lettonie (français), Lettonia (Italiano, latine), Łotwa (polski), Letónia (Português), 拉脫維亞 (正體中文), ラトビア (日本語)

By Type (5)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (3)

Ordinariates for the Faithful of the Eastern Rite Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (4): Jelgava, Liepāja, Rēzekne–Aglona, Riga

Armenian Church (1): East Europe

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Latvia

Conference of Bishops: Latvijas Biskapu Konference Bishop Viktors Stulpins (52)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total)

Cardinal Jānis Pujats (93)Jānis Pujats (93)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (4)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (2)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Saints: 1 Saint

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: East Europe

Capital: Riga

Area: 62,249 km²

Population: 1,944,643

Neighbouring Countries: Estonia Estonia, → Russia Russia, ↘ Belarus Belarus, ↓ Lithuania Lithuania

Cultural Summary

Religions: Lutheran 19.6%, Orthodox 15.3%, other Christian 1%, other 0.4%, unspecified 63.7%

Languages: Latvian (official) 56.3%, Russian 33.8%, other 0.6% (includes Polish, Ukrainian, and Belarusian), unspecified 9.4%

Ethnic Groups: Latvian 62%, Russian 25.4%, Belarusian 3.3%, Ukrainian 2.2%, Polish 2.1%, Lithuanian 1.2%, other 3.8%

Motto: Tēvzemei un Brīvībai (Latvian) (For Fatherland and Freedom)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 64,600 km²

Catholic Population: 369,000 Catholics (19.5% of 1,893,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 255 parishes, 9 mission stations (without resident priest), 2 other centres

Clergy: 8 bishops (4 diocesan, 4 titular), 152 priests (122 diocesan, 30 religious), 4 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 102 religious (1 brother, 101 sisters), 12 members of secular institutes (sisters), 11 major seminarians, 76 missionaries, 222 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024