Pope Leo X

(Giovanni de’ Medici)

1513.03.09 – 1521.12.01

Bishop of Rome

Vicar of Jesus Christ

Successor of the Prince of the Apostles

Supreme Pontiff of the Universal Church

Patriarch of the West

Metropolitan Archbishop of the Province of Rome

Servant of the Servants of God

Born:1475.12.11 (Firenze, Italy)
Created Cardinal in pectore:1489.03.09
Revealed as Cardinal:1492.03.26
Elected as Supreme Pontiff:1513.03.09
Ordained Priest:1513.03.15
Consecrated Bishop:1513.03.17
Installed as Supreme Pontiff:1513.03.19
Died:1521.12.01 (Roma, Italy † 45)

Commendatory Abbot of Montecassino (Italy) (1486.03.14 – 1504.11.15)

Cardinal-Deacon of S. Maria in Domnica (1492.03.26 – 1513.03.09)

Provost of Santo Stefano di Prato (Italy) (1492.06.26 – 1501)

Apostolic Administrator of Pesaro (Italy) (1503 – 1504)

Apostolic Administrator of Amalfi (Italy) (1510.12.09 – 1513.03.09)

Supreme Pontiff (1513.03.09 [1513.03.19] – 1521.12.01)

Cardinals Created:
Cardinals Created 42 Cardinals (8 Consistories)

Saints Proclaimed:
10 Saints

Buried at:
Basilica di Santa Maria sopra Minerva, Roma, Italy (Tomb monument)

See Also

Sede Vacante

© 2024 GCatholic.org