Catholic Church


Republic of the Union of Myanmar (Myanmar)


Also known as: la Birmanie (français), le Myanmar (français), Myanmar (Deutsch, español, Italiano, Português), Birma (polski), 緬甸 (正體中文), ミャンマー (日本語), Birmania (latine)

By Type (16)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (3)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (13)

By Rite

Roman Rite (16): Banmaw, Hakha, Hpa-an, Kalay, Kengtung, Lashio, Loikaw, Mandalay, Mawlamyine, Myitkyina, Pathein, Pekhon, Pyay, Taunggyi, Taungngu, Yangon

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Myanmar

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Myanmar (M.C.B.C.) Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B. (75)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão (71)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B. (75)Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B. (75)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (16)


Saints: 4 Blesseds

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Naypyidaw

Area: 653,508 km²

Population: 55,123,814

Former Name: Burma

Neighbouring Countries: India India, ← Bangladesh Bangladesh, ↗ China China, → Laos Laos, ↘ Thailand Thailand

Cultural Summary

Religions: Buddhist 87.9%, Christian 6.2%, Muslim 4.3%, Animist 0.8%, Hindu 0.5%, other 0.2%, none 0.1%

Languages: Burmese (official)

Ethnic Groups: Burman (Bamar) 68%, Shan 9%, Karen 7%, Rakhine 4%, Chinese 3%, Indian 2%, Mon 2%, other 5%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 676,578 km²

Catholic Population: 708,000 Catholics (1.3% of 55,295,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 428 parishes, 207 mission stations (47 with resident priest, 160 without resident priest), 18 other centres

Clergy: 21 bishops (13 diocesan, 8 titular), 988 priests (864 diocesan, 124 religious), 1 permanent deacon (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 2,299 religious (121 brothers, 2,178 sisters), 2 members of secular institutes (sisters), 256 major seminarians, 761 missionaries, 2,973 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024