Catholic Church


Republic of North Macedonia (North Macedonia)

North Macedonia

Also known as: Nordmazedonien (Deutsch), Macedonia del Norte (español), la Macédoine du Nord (français), Macedonia del Nord (Italiano), Macedonia Północna (polski), Macedónia do Norte (Português), Северна Македонија (македонски јазик), 北馬其頓 (正體中文), 北マケドニア共和国 (日本語), Respublica Macedonica Septentrionalis (latine)

By Type (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Skopje

Macedonian Church (1): Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Strumica–Skopje

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: North Macedonia Archbishop Luciano Suriani (67)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia episcoporum internationalis Ss. Cyrilli et Methodii Archbishop Ladislav Német, S.V.D. (67)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (3)


Patron Saint: Saint Clement of Ohrid

Saints: 5 Saints

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: East Europe

Capital: Skopje

Area: 25,433 km²

Population: 2,103,721

Former Name: Macedonia

Neighbouring Countries: Albania Albania, ↖ Kosovo Kosovo, ↑ Serbia Serbia, ↗ Bulgaria Bulgaria, ↓ Greece Greece

Cultural Summary

Religions: Macedonian Orthodox 64.8%, Muslim 33.3%, other Christian 0.4%, other and unspecified 1.5%

Languages: Macedonian (official) 66.5%, Albanian 25.1%, Turkish 3.5%, Romani 1.9%, Serbian 1.2%, other 1.8%

Ethnic Groups: Macedonian 64.2%, Albanian 25.2%, Turkish 3.9%, Romani 2.7%, Serb 1.8%, other 2.2%

Motto: Слобода или смрт! (Macedonian) (Freedom or Death!)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 25,713 km²

Catholic Population: 15,000 Catholics (0.7% of 2,069,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 11 parishes, 10 other centres

Clergy: 1 bishop (diocesan), 24 priests (23 diocesan, 1 religious)

Non-Clergy: 30 religious (sisters), 4 major seminarians, 10 missionaries, 14 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


1990Statistics included in Serbia Serbia

Last updated on 2024.05.22

© 2024