Catholic Church


Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic

Also known as: Dominikanische Republik (Deutsch), República Dominicana (español, Português), la République dominicaine (français), Repubblica Dominicana (Italiano), Dominikana (polski), 多明尼加共和國 (正體中文), ドミニカ共和国 (日本語), Respublica Dominicana (latine)

By Type (12)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (9)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (12): Baní, Barahona, La Vega, Mao–Monte Cristi, Military Ordinariate of Dominican Republic, Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia en Higüey, Puerto Plata, San Francisco de Macorís, San Juan de la Maguana, San Pedro de Macorís, Santiago de los Caballeros, Santo Domingo

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Dominican Republic Archbishop Piergiorgio Bertoldi (60)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia del Episcopado Dominicano (C.E.D.) Archbishop Héctor Rafael Rodríguez Rodríguez, M.S.C. (63)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total)

Cardinal Nicolás de Jesús López Rodríguez (87)Nicolás de Jesús López Rodríguez (87)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (13)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)

National Shrines National Shrines (3)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (16)


Patron Saints: Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia (January 21), Saint Dominic of Osma

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: Santo Domingo

Area: 48,320 km²

Population: 10,734,247

Neighbouring Countries: Haiti Haiti, ↖ Turks and Caicos Islands Turks and Caicos Islands, → Puerto Rico Puerto Rico

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 95%, other 5%

Languages: Spanish (official)

Ethnic Groups: mixed 70.4% (mestizo/indio 58%, mulatto 12.4%), black 15.8%, white 13.5%, other 0.3%

Motto: Dios, Patria, Libertad (Spanish) (God, Country, Liberty)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 48,511 km²

Catholic Population: 10,028,000 Catholics (95.1% of 10,550,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 719 parishes, 452 mission stations (without resident priest), 460 other centres

Clergy: 25 bishops (11 diocesan, 14 titular), 1,091 priests (724 diocesan, 367 religious), 695 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 2,150 religious (340 brothers, 1,810 sisters), 95 members of secular institutes (5 brothers, 90 sisters), 290 major seminarians, 6,371 missionaries, 33,550 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024