Basilicas in the World

West Europe
Andorra Andorra1
Austria Austria36
Belgium Belgium30
England England4
France France175
Germany Germany78
Iceland Iceland1
Ireland Ireland2
Italy Italy592
Luxembourg Luxembourg1
Malta Malta12
Netherlands Netherlands28
Portugal Portugal15
San Marino San Marino1
Spain Spain130
Switzerland Switzerland12
Vatican City State Vatican City State1
East Europe
Belarus Belarus3
Croatia Croatia9
Czechia Czechia15
Greece Greece1
Hungary Hungary17
Latvia Latvia1
Lithuania Lithuania8
Montenegro Montenegro1
Poland Poland156
Romania Romania4
Russia Russia1
Serbia Serbia2
Slovakia Slovakia15
Slovenia Slovenia7
Ukraine Ukraine4
North America
Canada Canada27
Mexico Mexico33
Central America
Costa Rica Costa Rica2
Cuba Cuba5
Dominican Republic Dominican Republic2
El Salvador El Salvador4
Guadeloupe Guadeloupe1
Guatemala Guatemala2
Honduras Honduras1
Nicaragua Nicaragua4
Panama Panama3
Puerto Rico Puerto Rico2
Saint Lucia Saint Lucia1
South America
Argentina Argentina50
Bolivia Bolivia9
Brazil Brazil84
Chile Chile9
Colombia Colombia40
Curaçao Curaçao1
Ecuador Ecuador12
Paraguay Paraguay2
Peru Peru14
Suriname Suriname1
Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago1
Uruguay Uruguay6
Venezuela Venezuela17
South and East Asia
China China1
India India32
Japan Japan1
Malaysia Malaysia1
Philippines Philippines23
South Korea South Korea1
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka1
Taiwan Taiwan2
Vietnam Vietnam4
Central and Southwest Asia
Israel Israel4
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan1
Palestine Palestine5
Turkiye Turkiye2
Australia Australia5
Guam Guam1
Samoa Samoa1
Tonga Tonga1
Western and Northern Africa
Algeria Algeria2
Benin Benin1
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso1
Cote d’Ivoire Cote d’Ivoire1
Egypt Egypt2
Ghana Ghana4
Nigeria Nigeria1
Senegal Senegal1
Tunisia Tunisia1
Eastern and Central Africa
Cameroon Cameroon1
Congo-Kinshasa Congo-Kinshasa1
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea2
Kenya Kenya1
Rwanda Rwanda1
Uganda Uganda3
Southern Africa
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe1

Total: Papal Basilica 4 Major Basilicas, Roman-Rite Basilica 1895 Minor Basilicas (as of 2021.12.31)

Basilica is a title of honour given to certain churches because of their antiquity, dignity, historical importance or significance as centres of worship.

There are four major basilicas, all of which are in Rome: St. John Lateran (the Cathedral of the diocese of Rome), St. Peter's of the Vatican, St. Paul's outside the Walls, and St. Mary Major. Major basilicas have the papal altar and holy door, which is open during the beginning of a Jubilee Year.

The pope also grants to certain churches around the world the title of minor basilica. Minor basilicas enjoy certain ceremonial privileges. The papal arms may be displayed on the churches' exteriors.

See Also

Book on Basilicas

Cathedrals in the World

International and National Shrines

UNESCO World Heritage Catholic Churches

Dioceses in the World

© 2024