Catholic Church


Republic of Malta (Malta)


Also known as: Malte (français), Malta (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português, Malti), 馬耳他 (正體中文), マルタ (日本語), Melita (latine)

By Type (2)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (2): Gozo, Malta

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Malta Archbishop Savio Hon Tai-fai, S.D.B. (73)

Conference of Bishops: Konferenza Episkopali Maltija Archbishop Charles Jude Scicluna (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Mario Grech (67)Mario Grech (67)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (3)

Basilicas Basilicas (12)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (2)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Patron Saints: Saint George, Saint Agatha of Sicily, Saint Paul of Tarsus

Saints: 3 Saints, 2 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continents: West Europe, Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Valletta

Area: 316 km²

Population: 416,338

Neighbouring Countries: Tunisia Tunisia, ↑ Italy Italy

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic (official) more than 90%

Languages: Maltese (official) 90.1%, English (official) 6%, multilingual 3%, other 0.9%

Ethnic Groups: Maltese (descendants of ancient Carthaginians and Phoenicians with strong elements of Italian and other Mediterranean stock)

Motto: Repubblika ta’ Malta (Maltese) (Republic of Malta)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 316 km²

Catholic Population: 415,000 Catholics (80.4% of 516,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 85 parishes, 10 other centres

Clergy: 6 bishops (2 diocesan, 4 titular), 691 priests (403 diocesan, 288 religious)

Non-Clergy: 818 religious (40 brothers, 778 sisters), 32 members of secular institutes (sisters), 47 major seminarians, 1,190 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.06

© 2024