Catholic Church


Islamic Republic of Iran (Iran)


Also known as: Irán (español), l’Iran (français), Iran (Deutsch, Italiano, polski), Irão (Português), 伊朗 (正體中文), イラン (日本語), Irania (latine)

By Type (6)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Archiepiscopal Sees (Archdioceses) Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Tehran–Isfahan

Armenian Church (1): Ispahan

Chaldean Church (4): Ahvaz, Salmas, Tehran, Urmyā

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Iran Archbishop Andrzej Józwowicz (59)

Conference of Bishops: Iranian Episcopal Conference Archbishop Dominique Joseph Mathieu, O.F.M. Conv. (60)

Patriarchal Synod: Synod of the Armenian Catholic Church Patriarch Raphaël Bedros XXI Minassian, I.C.P.B. (77)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (6)


Patron Saint: Saint Maruthas of Martyropolis

Saints: 7 Saints

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central and Southwest Asia

Capital: Tehran

Area: 1,531,595 km²

Population: 82,021,564

Former Name: Persia

Neighbouring Countries: Qatar Qatar, ↙ Bahrain Bahrain, ← Kuwait Kuwait, ← Iraq Iraq, ↖ Turkiye Turkiye, ↖ Armenia Armenia, ↖ Azerbaijan Azerbaijan, ↗ Turkmenistan Turkmenistan, → Afghanistan Afghanistan, ↘ Pakistan Pakistan, ↓ Oman Oman, ↓ United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates

Cultural Summary

Religions: Muslim (official) 99.4% (Shia 90-95%, Sunni 5-10%), other (includes Zoroastrian, Jewish, and Christian) 0.3%, unspecified 0.4%

Languages: Persian (official), Azeri Turkic and Turkic dialects, Kurdish, Gilaki and Mazandarani, Luri, Balochi, Arabic, others

Ethnic Groups: Persian, Azeri, Kurd, Lur, Baloch, Arab, Turkmen and Turkic tribes

Motto: Esteqlāl, āzādī, jomhūrī-ye eslāmī (Persian) (Independence, freedom, Islamic Republic)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 1,648,195 km²

Catholic Population: 9,000 Catholics (0.0% of 84,055,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 18 parishes, 3 other centres

Clergy: 5 bishops (3 diocesan, 2 titular), 5 priests (4 diocesan, 1 religious)

Non-Clergy: 11 religious (1 brother, 10 sisters), 1 major seminarian, 60 missionaries, 41 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024