Catholic Church


Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

(Overseas Territory of United Kingdom United Kingdom)

Falkland Islands

Also known as: Falklandinseln (Deutsch), Islas Malvinas (español), Îles Malouines (français), Isole Falkland (Italiano), Falklandy (polski), Ilhas Malvinas (Português), 福克蘭群島 (正體中文), フォークランド諸島 (日本語), Insulæ Malvinæ (latine)

By Type (1)

Apostolic Prefectures Apostolic Prefecture (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Falkland Islands

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Conference of Bishops: Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales Cardinal Vincent Gerard Nichols (78)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches


Continent: South America

Capital: Stanley

Area: 12,173 km²

Population: 3,198

Former Name: Malvinas

Part of: United Kingdom United Kingdom (Overseas Territory)

Neighbouring Countries: Argentina Argentina, → South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

Cultural Summary

Religions: Christian 57.1%, other 1.6%, none 35.4%, unspecified 6%

Languages: English 89%, Spanish 7.7%, other 3.3%

Ethnic Groups: Falkland Islander 48.3%, British 23.1%, St. Helenian 7.5%, Chilean 4.6%, mixed 6%, other 8.5%, unspecified 2%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 12,173 km²

Catholic Population: 400 Catholics (10.0% of 4,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 1 parish, 1 other centre

Clergy: 2 priests (religious)

Non-Clergy: 2 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.12

© 2024