Major Archbishops

RiteMajor ArchdioceseMajor Archbishop
Major ArchbishopsRomanianFăgăraş şi Alba Iulia
Cardinal Lucian Mureşan (92)Lucian Mureşan (Cardinal)
Major Archbishop Raphael Thattil (68)Raphael Thattil
Cardinal George Alencherry (79)George Alencherry (Cardinal) (emeritus)
Cardinal Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal (64)Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal (Cardinal)
Lviv (1963.12.23–2005.08.21)
Major Archbishop Sviatoslav Shevchuk (54)Sviatoslav Shevchuk

Major Archbishops, like patriarchs, are the heads of their Eastern-rite Churches. They enjoy patriarchal rights in nearly all respects, but without the patriarchal title. There are now four major archiepiscopal Churches, the Ukrainian, Syro-Malabar, Syro-Malankar, and Romanian. Some of them have requested the patriarchal status, the Holy See has deemed the Churches not ancient enough or inopportune to acquire such a status.

The election of a new Major Archbishop requires confirmation by the Pope, whereas that of a new Patriarch needs to be notified to the Pope who will then extend ecclesiastical communion to the new Patriarch.

Last updated on 2024.05.19

See Also

Major Archdioceses

The Pope



© 2024