Catholic Church


Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste (Timor-Leste)


Also known as: Osttimor (Deutsch), Timor Oriental (español), Timor-Leste (français, Português), le Timor oriental (français), Timor Est (Italiano), Timor Wschodni (polski), 東帝汶 (正體中文), 東ティモール (日本語), Timoria Orientalis (latine)

By Type (3)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (3): Baucau, Díli, Maliana

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Timor-Leste Archbishop Wojciech Załuski (64)

Conference of Bishops: Conferência Episcopal Timorense Bishop Norberto Do Amaral (68)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão (71)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Virgilio do Carmo da Silva, S.D.B. (56)Virgilio do Carmo da Silva, S.D.B. (56)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (3)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)


Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Dili

Area: 14,874 km²

Population: 1,291,358

Former Name: East Timor, Portuguese Timor

Neighbouring Countries: Indonesia Indonesia, ↓ Australia Australia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 97.6%, Protestant/Evangelical 2%, Muslim 0.2%, other 0.2%

Languages: Tetun Prasa 30.6%, Mambai 16.6%, Makasai 10.5%, Tetun Terik 6.1%, Baikenu 5.9%, Kemak 5.8%, Bunak 5.5%, Tokodede 4%, Fataluku 3.5%, Waima'a 1.8%, Galoli 1.4%, Naueti 1.4%, Idate 1.2%, Midiki 1.2%, other 4.5%

Ethnic Groups: Austronesian (Malayo-Polynesian) (includes Tetun, Mambai, Tokodede, Galoli, Kemak, Baikeno), Melanesian-Papuan (includes Bunak, Fataluku, Bakasai), small Chinese minority

Motto: Honra, pátria e povo (Portuguese) (Honour, homeland and people)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 14,874 km²

Catholic Population: 1,362,000 Catholics (96.0% of 1,419,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 65 parishes, 169 mission stations (7 with resident priest, 162 without resident priest), 488 other centres

Clergy: 2 bishops (diocesan), 303 priests (137 diocesan, 166 religious), 1 permanent deacon (religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,136 religious (102 brothers, 1,034 sisters), 1 member of secular institutes (sister), 567 major seminarians, 8 missionaries, 1,714 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.22

© 2024