Catholic Church


New Zealand

New Zealand

Also known as: Neuseeland (Deutsch), Nueva Zelanda (español), la Nouvelle-Zélande (français), Nuova Zelanda (Italiano), Nowa Zelandia (polski), Nova Zelândia (Português), 紐西蘭(新西蘭) (正體中文), ニュージーランド (日本語), Nova Zelandia (latine)

By Type (11)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (9)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (7): Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Military Ordinariate of New Zealand, Palmerston North, Wellington

Chaldean Church (1): Saint Thomas the Apostle of Sydney

Greek-Melkite Church (1): Saint Michael’s of Sydney

Syro-Malabar Church (1): Saint Thomas the Apostle of Melbourne

Ukrainian Church (1): Saints Peter and Paul of Melbourne

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: New Zealand Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (66)

Conference of Bishops: New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference Bishop Stephen Marmion Lowe (61)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (57)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal John Atcherley Dew (75)John Atcherley Dew (75)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (8)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Patron Saint: Our Lady of the Assumption (August 15)

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Oceania

Capital: Wellington

Area: 264,537 km²

Population: 4,510,327

Dependencies: Cook Islands Cook Islands, Niue Niue, Tokelau Tokelau

Neighbouring Countries: Australia Australia, ↑ Fiji Fiji, ↑ New Caledonia New Caledonia, ↑ Norfolk Island Norfolk Island

Cultural Summary

Religions: Christian 44.3% (Catholic 11.6%, Anglican 10.8%, Presbyterian and Congregational 7.8%, Methodist, 2.4%, Pentecostal 1.8%, other 9.9%), Hindu 2.1%, Buddhist 1.4%, Maori Christian 1.3%, Islam 1.1%, other religion 1.4% (includes Judaism, Spiritualism and New Age religions, Baha'i, Asian religions other than Buddhism), no religion 38.5%, unidentified 12.3%

Languages: English (de facto official) 89.8%, Maori (de jure official) 3.5%, Samoan 2%, Hindi 1.6%, French 1.2%, Northern Chinese 1.2%, Yue 1%, other or not stated 20.5%, New Zealand Sign Language (de jure official)

Ethnic Groups: European 71.2%, Maori 14.1%, Asian 11.3%, Pacific peoples 7.6%, Middle Eastern, Latin American, African 1.1%, other 1.6%, not stated or unidentified 5.4%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 270,534 km²

Catholic Population: 551,000 Catholics (10.8% of 5,123,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 193 parishes, 66 other centres

Clergy: 14 bishops (5 diocesan, 9 titular), 430 priests (262 diocesan, 168 religious), 38 permanent deacons (37 diocesan, 1 religious)

Non-Clergy: 652 religious (84 brothers, 568 sisters), 1 member of secular institutes (brother), 18 major seminarians, 745 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.19

© 2024