Catholic Church


Kingdom of the Netherlands (Netherlands)


Also known as: Niederlande (Deutsch), Países Bajos (español), les Pays-Bas (français), Paesi Bassi (Italiano), Holandia (polski), Países Baixos (Português), Nederland (Nederlands), 荷蘭 (正體中文), オランダ (日本語), Nederlandia (latine)

By Type (9)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (8): Breda, Groningen–Leeuwarden, Haarlem–Amsterdam, Military Ordinariate of the Netherlands, Roermond, Rotterdam, ’s-Hertogenbosch, Utrecht

Ukrainian Church (1): Saint-Vladimir-le-Grand de Paris

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Netherlands Archbishop Paul Tschang In-nam (74)

Holy See Representation: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

Conference of Bishops: Nederlandse Bisschoppenconferentie Bishop Johannes Harmannes Jozefus van den Hende (60)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Willem Jacobus Eijk (70)Willem Jacobus Eijk (70)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (10)

Basilicas Basilicas (28)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Patron Saint: Saint Willibrord (November 7)

Saints: 70 Saints, 10 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: West Europe

Capital: Amsterdam

Area: 33,893 km²

Population: 17,084,719

Former Name: Holland, Austrian Netherlands, Spanish Netherlands

Dependencies: Aruba Aruba, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Curaçao Curaçao, Sint Maarten Sint Maarten

Neighbouring Countries: England England, → Germany Germany, ↓ Belgium Belgium

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 23.7%, Protestant 15.5% (includes Dutch Reformed 6.5%, Protestant Church of The Netherlands 5.7%, Calvinist 3.3%), Islam 4.9%, other 5.7% (includes Hindu, Buddhist, Jewish), none 50.1%

Languages: Dutch (official)

Ethnic Groups: Dutch 77.4%, EU 6.2%, Turkish 2.3%, Moroccan 2.3%, Indonesian 2.1%, Surinamese 2%, other 7.7%

Motto: Ik zal handhaven (Dutch); Je maintiendrai (French) (I will preserve)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 41,526 km²

Catholic Population: 4,854,000 Catholics (27.8% of 17,475,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 615 parishes, 8 other centres

Clergy: 18 bishops (7 diocesan, 11 titular), 1,458 priests (769 diocesan, 689 religious), 338 permanent deacons (334 diocesan, 4 religious)

Non-Clergy: 3,621 religious (508 brothers, 3,113 sisters), 2 members of secular institutes (sisters), 106 major seminarians, 18 missionaries, 69 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024