Catholic Church


Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka (Sri Lanka)

Sri Lanka

Also known as: le Sri Lanka (français), Sri Lanka (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 斯里蘭卡 (正體中文), スリランカ (日本語), Taprobane (latine)

By Type (12)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (11)

By Rite

Roman Rite (12): Anuradhapura, Badulla, Batticaloa, Chilaw, Colombo, Galle, Jaffna, Kandy, Kurunegala, Mannar, Ratnapura, Trincomalee

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Sri Lanka Archbishop Brian Udaigwe (59)

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Sri Lanka Bishop Harold Anthony Perera (72)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão (71)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Albert Malcolm Ranjith Patabendige Don (76)Albert Malcolm Ranjith Patabendige Don (76)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (12)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (8)


Patron Saints: Saint Lawrence of Rome, Saint Thomas

Saints: 1 Saint

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Sri Jayawardenapura-Kotte

Area: 64,630 km²

Population: 22,409,381

Former Name: Ceylon

Neighbouring Countries: Maldives Maldives, ↖ India India

Cultural Summary

Religions: Buddhist (official) 70.2%, Hindu 12.6%, Muslim 9.7%, Roman Catholic 6.1%, other Christian 1.3%, other 0.05%

Languages: Sinhala (official and national language) 74%, Tamil (official and national language) 18%, other 8%

Ethnic Groups: Sinhalese 74.9%, Sri Lankan Tamil 11.2%, Sri Lankan Moors 9.2%, Indian Tamil 4.2%, other 0.5%

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 65,610 km²

Catholic Population: 1,676,000 Catholics (7.6% of 22,156,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 504 parishes, 705 mission stations (6 with resident priest, 699 without resident priest), 26 other centres

Clergy: 21 bishops (11 diocesan, 10 titular), 1,560 priests (982 diocesan, 578 religious), 3 permanent deacons (1 diocesan, 2 religious)

Non-Clergy: 2,730 religious (177 brothers, 2,553 sisters), 31 members of secular institutes (6 brothers, 25 sisters), 539 major seminarians, 207 missionaries, 9,881 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024