Catholic Church


Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia

Also known as: St. Lucia (Deutsch), Santa Lucía (español), Sainte-Lucie (français), Santa Lucia (Italiano), Saint Lucia (polski), Santa Lúcia (Português), 聖露西亞 (正體中文), セントルシア (日本語), Sancta Lucia (latine)

By Type (1)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Castries

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Saint Lucia Archbishop Santiago De Wit Guzmán (59)

Conference of Bishops: Antilles Episcopal Conference (A.E.C.) Archbishop Charles Jason Gordon (65)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: Castries

Area: 606 km²

Population: 164,994

Neighbouring Countries: Martinique Martinique, ↘ Barbados Barbados, ↓ Saint Vincent and Grenadines Saint Vincent and Grenadines

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 61.5%, Protestant 25.5% (includes Seventh Day Adventist 10.4%, Pentecostal 8.9%, Baptist 2.2%, Anglican 1.6%, Church of God 1.5%, other Protestant 0.9%), other Christian 3.4% (includes Evangelical 2.3% and Jehovah's Witness 1.1%), Rastafarian 1.9%, other 0.4%, none 5.9%, unspecified 1.4%

Languages: English (official), French patois

Ethnic Groups: black/African descent 85.3%, mixed 10.9%, East Indian 2.2%, other 1.6%, unspecified 0.1%

Motto: The land, the people, the light (English)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 616 km²

Catholic Population: 128,000 Catholics (69.2% of 185,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 22 parishes, 2 other centres

Clergy: 1 bishop (diocesan), 32 priests (11 diocesan, 21 religious), 23 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 43 religious (4 brothers, 39 sisters), 7 major seminarians, 318 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.31

© 2024