Catholic Church


Republic of Kenya (Kenya)


Also known as: Kenia (Deutsch, español, polski, latine), le Kenya (français), Kenya (Italiano), Quénia (Português), 肯亞 (正體中文), ケニア (日本語)

By Type (27)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (4)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (22)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (27): Bungoma, Eldoret, Embu, Garissa, Homa Bay, Isiolo, Kakamega, Kericho, Kisii, Kisumu, Kitale, Kitui, Lodwar, Machakos, Malindi, Maralal, Marsabit, Meru, Military Ordinariate of Kenya, Mombasa, Murang’a, Nairobi, Nakuru, Ngong, Nyahururu, Nyeri, Wote

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Kenya Archbishop Hubertus Matheus Maria van Megen (62)

Holy See Representation: United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) Archbishop Hubertus Matheus Maria van Megen (62)

Conference of Bishops: Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops (K.C.C.B.) Archbishop Maurice Muhatia Makumba (55)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa (A.M.E.C.E.A.) Bishop Charles Joseph Sampa Kasonde (55)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (64)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal John Njue (78)John Njue (78)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (26)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)


Patron Saint: Mary Queen of Love

Saints: 2 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Eastern and Central Africa

Capital: Nairobi

Area: 569,140 km²

Population: 47,615,739

Former Name: British East Africa

Neighbouring Countries: Uganda Uganda, ↖ South Sudan South Sudan, ↑ Ethiopia Ethiopia, → Somalia Somalia, ↓ Tanzania Tanzania

Cultural Summary

Religions: Christian 83% (Protestant 47.7%, Catholic 23.4%, other Christian 11.9%), Muslim 11.2%, Traditionalists 1.7%, other 1.6%, none 2.4%, unspecified 0.2%

Languages: English (official), Kiswahili (official), numerous indigenous languages

Ethnic Groups: Kikuyu 22%, Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 6%, other African 15%, non-African (Asian, European, and Arab) 1%

Motto: Harambee (Swahili) (Let’s work together)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 580,367 km²

Catholic Population: 17,069,000 Catholics (31.7% of 53,798,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 1,176 parishes, 5,839 mission stations (10 with resident priest, 5,829 without resident priest), 27 other centres

Clergy: 32 bishops (21 diocesan, 11 titular), 3,747 priests (2,243 diocesan, 1,504 religious), 5 permanent deacons (2 diocesan, 3 religious)

Non-Clergy: 9,397 religious (1,312 brothers, 8,085 sisters), 10 members of secular institutes (sisters), 1,654 major seminarians, 238 missionaries, 13,916 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.24

© 2024