Catholic Church


Republic of Ecuador (Ecuador)


Also known as: l’Équateur (français), Ecuador (Deutsch, español, Italiano), Ekwador (polski), Equador (Português), 厄瓜多爾 (正體中文), エクアドル (日本語), Æquatoria (latine)

By Type (27)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (4)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (14)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (8)

By Rite

Roman Rite (27): Aguarico, Ambato, Azogues, Babahoyo, Cuenca, Daule, Esmeraldas, Galápagos, Guaranda, Guayaquil, Ibarra, Latacunga, Loja, Machala, Méndez, Napo, Obispado Castrense del Ecuador, Portoviejo, Puyo, Quito, Riobamba, San Jacinto, San Miguel de Sucumbíos, Santa Elena, Santo Domingo, Tulcán, Zamora

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Ecuador Archbishop Andrés Carrascosa Coso (68)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal Ecuatoriana Archbishop Luis Gerardo Cabrera Herrera, O.F.M. (68)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (29)

Basilicas Basilicas (12)

National Shrines National Shrines (7)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (10)


Patron Saints: Sacred Heart of Jesus, Our Lady of Quinche (November 21)

Saints: 3 Saints, 3 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South America

Capital: Quito

Area: 276,841 km²

Population: 16,290,913

Neighbouring Countries: Colombia Colombia, ↓ Peru Peru

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 74%, Evangelical 10.4%, Jehovah's Witness 1.2%, other 6.4% (includes Mormon Buddhist, Jewish, Spiritualist, Muslim, Hindu, indigenous religions, African American religions, Pentecostal), atheist 7.9%, agnostic 0.1%

Languages: Spanish (Castilian) 93% (official), Quechua 4.1%, other indigenous 0.7%, foreign 2.2%

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Amerindian and white) 71.9%, Montubio 7.4%, Amerindian 7%, white 6.1%, Afroecuadorian 4.3%, mulatto 1.9%, black 1%, other 0.4%

Motto: Dios, patria y libertad (Spanish) (God, homeland and liberty)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 283,561 km²

Catholic Population: 15,442,000 Catholics (87.0% of 17,751,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 1,289 parishes, 575 mission stations (17 with resident priest, 558 without resident priest), 3,766 other centres

Clergy: 49 bishops (16 diocesan, 33 titular), 2,134 priests (1,430 diocesan, 704 religious), 100 permanent deacons (94 diocesan, 6 religious)

Non-Clergy: 4,727 religious (630 brothers, 4,097 sisters), 156 members of secular institutes (2 brothers, 154 sisters), 428 major seminarians, 4,413 missionaries, 47,458 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.05

© 2024