Catholic Church


Republic of Costa Rica (Costa Rica)

Costa Rica

Also known as: le Costa Rica (français), Costa Rica (Deutsch, español, Italiano, Português), Kostaryka (polski), 哥斯達黎加 (正體中文), コスタリカ (日本語), Ora Opulenta (latine)

By Type (8)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

By Rite

Roman Rite (8): Alajuela, Cartago, Ciudad Quesada, Limón, Puntarenas, San Isidro de El General, San José, Tilarán–Liberia

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Costa Rica

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de Costa Rica (C.E.CO.R.) Bishop Javier Gerardo Román Arias (61)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Secretariado Episcopal de América Central y Panamá (S.E.D.A.C.) Bishop Héctor David García Osorio (57)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (9)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)

National Shrines National Shrines (2)


Patron Saint: San José (March 19)

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Central America

Capital: San José

Area: 51,060 km²

Population: 4,930,258

Neighbouring Countries: Nicaragua Nicaragua, → Panama Panama

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 71.8%, Evangelical and Pentecostal 12.3%, other Protestant 2.6%, Jehovah's Witness 0.5%, other 2.4%, none 10.4%

Languages: Spanish (official), English

Ethnic Groups: white or mestizo 83.6%, mulatto 6.7%, indigenous 2.4%, black of African descent 1.1%, other 1.1%, none 2.9%, unspecified 2.2%

Motto: Vivan siempre el trabajo y la paz (Spanish) (Long live work and peace)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 51,100 km²

Catholic Population: 4,123,000 Catholics (79.9% of 5,163,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 296 parishes, 603 mission stations (1 with resident priest, 602 without resident priest), 541 other centres

Clergy: 17 bishops (8 diocesan, 9 titular), 820 priests (640 diocesan, 180 religious), 52 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 937 religious (90 brothers, 847 sisters), 27 members of secular institutes (1 brother, 26 sisters), 190 major seminarians, 1,801 missionaries, 16,442 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.05.22

© 2024