Catholic Church


Plurinational State of Bolivia (Bolivia)


Also known as: Bolivien (Deutsch), la Bolivie (français), Bolivia (español, Italiano, latine), Boliwia (polski), Bolívia (Português), 玻利維亞 (正體中文), ボリビア (日本語)

By Type (18)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (4)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (6)

Territorial Prelatures Territorial Prelature (2)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (5)

By Rite

Roman Rite (18): Aiquile, Camiri, Cochabamba, Corocoro, Coroico, El Alto, El Beni, La Paz, Ñuflo de Chávez, Obispado Castrense de Bolivia, Oruro, Pando, Potosí, Reyes, San Ignacio de Velasco, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Sucre, Tarija

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Dioceses | Vacant Dioceses | Former Dioceses

Apostolic Nunciature: Bolivia Archbishop Fermín Emilio Sosa Rodríguez (55)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Epsicopal Boliviana (C.E.B.) Bishop Aurelio Pesoa Ribera, O.F.M. (61)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (63)

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total)

Cardinal Toribio Ticona Porco (86)Toribio Ticona Porco (86)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (19)

Basilicas Basilicas (9)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (28)


Patron Saints: Our Lady of Mount Carmel (July 16), Saint Francis Solanus

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: South America

Capital: Sucre

Area: 1,083,301 km²

Population: 11,138,234

Former Name: Upper Peru

Neighbouring Countries: Chile Chile, ← Peru Peru, → Brazil Brazil, ↘ Paraguay Paraguay, ↓ Argentina Argentina

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 76.8%, Evangelical and Pentecostal 8.1%, Protestant 7.9%, other 1.7%, none 5.5%

Languages: Spanish (official) 60.7%, Quechua (official) 21.2%, Aymara (official) 14.6%, foreign languages 2.4%, Guarani (official) 0.6%, other native languages 0.4%, none 0.1%

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed white and Amerindian ancestry) 68%, indigenous 20%, white 5%, cholo/chola 2%, black 1%, other 1%, unspecified 3% ; 44% of respondents indicated feeling part of some indigenous group, predominantly Quechua or Aymara

Motto: La Unión es la Fuerza (Spanish) (Unity is Strength)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 1,098,581 km²

Catholic Population: 10,247,000 Catholics (86.5% of 11,842,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 613 parishes, 316 mission stations (1 with resident priest, 315 without resident priest), 144 other centres

Clergy: 37 bishops (16 diocesan, 21 titular), 1,150 priests (619 diocesan, 531 religious), 117 permanent deacons (113 diocesan, 4 religious)

Non-Clergy: 2,162 religious (144 brothers, 2,018 sisters), 80 members of secular institutes (6 brothers, 74 sisters), 384 major seminarians, 4,053 missionaries, 15,003 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2024.04.09

© 2024